The Killarney Heritage Centre displays the pioneering heritage of the region around Killarney, giving a glimpse of the region’s history.
The heritage centre is located on one of the main streets in Killarney, residing at the heritage listed former Commercial Bank on Willow Street, built in 1906.
It was originally a two-storey building, however, the building was damaged by a tornado in 1968 and only the ground floor was saved. The walk-in safe from its time as a bank remains in the building.
It moved there in 2015, previously located in the flood-prone RSL hall in Acacia St. The brown sign still says it is 690 metres away when the new location is basically next to the sign. The collection is added to as pieces are found or donated.
Outside the building on the footpath is a display of a bullock team, created by artist Paul Stumkat Studios. A plaque next to it reads, “This statue depicts the iconic bullock drivers who helped open up this area through the timber industry. The bullock teams carried the big timber out of the forests.”.
The centre is open on the weekends for a small entry fee for adults. They are open for inquiries and groups out of the normal hours with prior arrangement by emailing them firstname.lastname@example.org.
The heritage centre is located more or less at the end (or start) of The Falls Drive Tourist Drive 21 and intersects with The Settlers Route Tourist Drive 1.
There is plenty of parking available at the heritage centre, however, there is additional parking at a park on the opposite corner. The park also has toilets, a playground, and coin operated BBQs.
To get there:
The heritage centre is on the main street of Killarney on Willow St. Heading south, the centre is on the left.