The Blackall Woolscour is a heritage listed wool scour built from 1900s to 1920s, and operated until the late 1970s. It was restored in the 2000s and now operates as a museum.
Along with the wool washing and drying tanks, the museum has a 20 stand shearing shed, large sheep yards, shearers’ quarters, cook house, and shower blocks. An informative and educational experience is provided to visitors, with volunteers ensuring this heritage site is shared with Australians.
The steam operated machinery is operated daily from May to the end of August, by the original steam engine dated 1908. Tours run every hour until the hour before closing time.
Scouring wool is a process of cleaning the wool from sweat, dead skin, and matter from the environment the sheep was in. The artesian bore water at 58 degrees supplied the hot water required for the cleaning of the wool.
Note: The Historical Wool Scour was not visited, as we ran out of time to view some destinations at Blackall to keep to our travel schedule.
To get there:
If coming into Blackall from Tambo along the Landsborough Hwy, from the Welcome to Blackall sign continue for 1.2km and turn right into Clematis St. Follow Clematis St for 4km becoming Evora Rd, and the Historical Wool Scour is on the right.
If coming into Blackall from Barcaldine along the Landsborough Hwy, from the Welcome to Blackall sign continue for 1.4km and turn left into Clematis St. Follow Clematis St for 4km becoming Evora Rd, and the Historical Wool Scour is on the right.
Cost: Adult $15.00, Child $10.00, Pensioner $14.00, Family (2 Adults, 2 Children) $45.00, Family Additional Child $8.00
Hours: Mon-Sun 9am-5pm
Food: Yes, cafe
Wheelchair accessible: Yes